Halloween Mishaps

It’s Halloween! I still have no idea what Little One is doing, but Husband took her to Goodwill, and she has everything she needs to be a Hippie.  With her long, straight, brown hair and what they bought she will look great!

I started thinking (again!) about other Halloweens, and since Oldest One isn’t here, about her specifically. And I realized that Halloween was a holiday in which she twice managed to be gimpy for.  I think there was a third, but right now I can’t remember it.  I’ll blame that on medication and not age!

When Oldest One was in 2nd grade a classmate’s Mom decided to have a party for her child’s birthday on Halloween, after school, ending in time for the kids to go trick or treating. Oldest One’s best friend’s Mom, CM, offered to take her.  While at the party Oldest One took a turn on the trampoline, and her ankle got twisted.  Just in time to be wandering the neighborhood asking for candy.  She was in tears figuring she would miss it all.  Since Oldest One was small for her age, I pulled out the umbrella stroller, said she could sit in that, and away we went.

CM was very helpful as we went through the neighborhood, and held Little One’s hand as we crossed streets so I could push the stroller. At one point I was lowering the stroller into the street from a rounded curb.  I guess someone thought it would be funny to throw a bunch of ball bearings right there to see how many people they could get that night.  I started to push the stroller into the street and both the stroller and I were tripped up by the ball bearings, and Down We Went!  Seriously, I was on my back in the street, and the stroller had landed so Oldest One was on her back, with her legs up.  I got myself up, got Oldest One up, and we decided to call it a night.

Then, in her junior year of high school, oldest one hurt her knee at cheer. She came out of a tumbling pass in the wrong place, and the bottom of her feet squarely hit the mirrored back wall.  Husband had to go out to the carpool’s car and carry Oldest One in.  Her knee swelled up to about three times its normal size; she had a bone bruise and she sprained it, but luckily nothing requiring surgery.  She was on crutches for almost two months.  Halloween came right after this, so she couldn’t go out.  Her friends all piled in the house around 7p, spent time with her, then left with her bag.  They came back later that night with a bag full of candy for her.  I think someone took a picture of her looking pathetic on the couch with crutches, and then showed it at the door with her bag when asking for candy for her.

Oldest One also did great getting sick at Christmas, but I won’t go into that now. Bad as it all seemed at the time, these are now Oldest One stories we bring up and laugh about from time to time.  I Love My Family!

This Broad would Love to know what you have to say!

