Pet Therapy

Being stuck in the house and sitting in the recliner all day can drive a person crazy. I don’t think I’m quite to that point, but some days are harder than others to not be able to get outside and see people.

Luckily, I’m easy to entertain and I have pets. I’ve mentioned that we have 2 dogs, 2 cats and a bunny.  I don’t do much with Bunny, because she is Little One’s, but I love to watch her when she is out of her cage hopping around the house, thumping, and scaring the other animals trying to make friends.  You just haven’t lived if you haven’t seen a bunny go up or down stairs.

Fat Gray Cat has been depressed with Oldest One at college. Before she left Oldest One spent 2 weeks sleeping in the same t-shirt to leave for Fat Gray Cat to lay on.  And she did, all day, for about the first month.  Oldest One has left before, but not for too long.  When Fat Gray Cat realized she wasn’t coming back I was the recipient of her affections.  She would jump onto my head as soon as I got into the recliner each morning and demand to be pet.  And then when she felt she had been pet enough and wanted to thank me she would rip some skin off with her teeth or claws.  I try to take pictures each day and Snap Chat them to Oldest One, who misses her baby.

The dogs are always good at cheering me up. White Shaggy Dog, in a perpetual state of confusion, is the best.  He jumps up on Husband’s recliner, right next to mine, and hangs between the two chair arms for me to pet him.  He doesn’t like me to look at him when I pet him (he gets embarrassed), so I look at blogs or FaceBook.  White Shaggy Dog grunts and groans in happiness when he gets pet, and when he falls asleep he snores.  He furiously wags his tail when I talk to him, and he is good for a hug when I feel sad.

Silver & Black Dog is a bit more aloof. She needs to sleep in the pantry most of the day, where the pets’ food and water is, and where the doggie door is.  She will alert us when one of the sketchy (to her) cats comes in by barking and hopping around.  Silver & Black Dog loves to have her tummy pet, and she will lay right by or on me all day as long as I pet her.  She gets super excited when we leave and come back, even if we only left for 5 minutes.  I love how she welcomes us home, leaping around, giving little cries and wagging her little tail stump as fast as she can.

Last is Tuxedo Cat. She spends a lot of time outside patrolling our house and some of our neighbors to make sure no gophers think to move in. She purrs all the time.  She is Little One’s cat, but she is always happy to come lay on me so I can pet her.  For hours.  The only bad thing about her is she sheds, so Husband can’t pet her.  Tuxedo cat is scared of Fat Gray Cat, but good friends with Bunny, the only one not afraid of her.

I’ve gone on way too long about my pets, but they have really helped me feel better being stuck in the house. There is something so wonderful about petting a dog, cat or bunny that makes you feel better, and makes the world look better.

2 comments on “Pet Therapy

  1. Feminine and Feline says:

    Awe, I love cats. I would have to find a way to sneak mine in my dorm if I was going to college away from home.

This Broad would Love to know what you have to say!

