No Reading?!

Somehow I managed to get a scratch on my cornea, right in the middle. Wow, is that painful!  Luckily this heals quickly, so what started Sunday morning was much better by Tuesday night.  The bad part, besides the eye pain, swelling, and constant watering, was that I was restricted from reading until my eye was 90 percent healed.  Which meant I was not able to read until Wednesday.

That was horrible! It’s not just that I’m stuck in the recliner, but that reading relaxes me.  It helps me not stress out about life.  If I have to go too long without reading I get antsy, and cranky.  It is my addiction.  I was so relieved on Wednesday when I could open my Kindle and start reading my current book.  I’m happy to say both my eye and my mood are very improved!

I was stuck watching TV, and I am not against watching TV, because there are a lot of shows Husband and I follow. Which are at night.  Daytime TV is pretty bad.  I’m not even that picky, but I realized there are only so many shows about finding or improving houses I can watch at one time.  Same for weddings and wedding dresses.  I can say with authority now that my living room really needs to be painted.

I realized that even though I say I’ve come to terms with being mostly confined to the house, I really haven’t. A few days without being able to read showed me that.  I’m not cut out to sit at home all day.  I like to be around people, even if we are all in our own cubicles, we still interact throughout the day.  I like to accomplish things, and run around, and have more plans than I can possibly get to in one day.  Reading helps me not dwell on that, but really, I’m like a grounded teenager, grinding my teeth and muttering under my breath about how tough I have it.

But, right now I have a new book to start, so I don’t have time to dwell on this. For the next several hours at least.  An adventure is waiting to take me out of the recliner, so I’m mentally packed and ready to go!

This Broad would Love to know what you have to say!

