Score for Dr. Seuss!

When Oldest One and I were at Wal-Mart last Sunday we picked out a book for the daughter of the Receptionist at my work place. I wrote a while back about how she hadn’t thought to read to her daughter, and I told her how much my girls had loved being read to as little ones. Since our conversation she has started to read to her daughter, and she told me her daughter will often bring her a book so she can be read to. I know they don’t have many books right now, and Mom goes to school at night, so getting to the library isn’t easy.

Oldest One first grabbed a book that was not going to work for a two year old. I steered her towards the board books, and we started looking. Oldest One looked at the prices and said we needed to go to Goodwill and get her a lot of books. I said it was a great idea for next weekend, but right then we didn’t have time, and I wanted to get something because the Receptionist was such a nice person trying to do her best by her daughter. So we are going this weekend to look for books.

We bought the board book version of Dr. Seuss’s Hand, Hand, Fingers, Thumb. My girls had loved the full version of the book, and it seemed like the perfect one to buy, especially since Oldest Agreed. I put it into my lunch bag when we got home so I wouldn’t forget it, and gave it to the Receptionist on Monday morning.

Tuesday morning the Receptionist was very excited to tell me how much her daughter loved the book. Her daughter ran to get rings to put on her fingers, and had a drum she could use while reading the book. She was even saying “dum ditty dum ditty dum dum dum” and asking to have it read one more time, then one more time, then one more time…you get the idea. I loved hearing that!

I loved reading books to my girls, and one day 13 plus years away (I hope) I will buy up every board book I can find to read to my grandchildren, and then add to the collection as they grow older. I’d like to do volunteer work down the road with reading to kids, or reading for the blind, or anything around books. I can go on forever about how wonderful books are, and I love to share with others what I read, hear what they read, and keep a list (okay, maybe a binder) of books I want to read. I may not ever travel in space, or meet a werewolf, but I know I can do that and more every time I pick up a book.

2 comments on “Score for Dr. Seuss!

  1. Great story. I still read to my youngest and he is 11. I love the Dr. Seuss books. Go Dog Go is another great one for little ones! Thanks for posting!

  2. My 14 year old daughter still likes to read with me from time to time, and I jump at the chance. I kept all the Dr. Seuss books because they are so wonderful. Thanks for stopping by!

This Broad would Love to know what you have to say!

