Friday Night Lights (and Tuesday, Thursday & Saturday)

I watched the movie Friday Night Lights, and I watched every episode of the TV show.  There were definitely parts I couldn’t relate to, but I liked the idea of a community coming together because of a sport.  Not the parts where the coach’s house had rude signs in the front yard after a loss, or where the student athletes were yelled at for losing, but the coming together and supporting the kids, and cheering loudly.

Because the charter school my daughters attend is small, we have a Friday Night Lights feel with our sports (without all the extreme parts).  Husband and I have been to football and volleyball games, boys and girls basketball games, and this year we plan to go to the baseball games.  A lot of families come to the games, even if they don’t have a child playing or cheering, and it is amazing to see how the energy of the school community lights the kids up and gets them playing better.

We know kids on all the teams, and go to support them.  After the game most people wait for the teams to come back out to tell them they did a good job (even if they lost) and how great it was to watch them play.  Last week the girls lost the first division playoff game so their season ended, and it was a great game.  Both teams played well, and the team that beat us did have to work for it.  Little One’s best friend is on the team, and after she was done hugging and crying on Little One I gave her a hug and told her how proud I was of her, and how well she had played.  I got a big hug and a wavering smile for that.

The energy last Saturday night at the boys 2nd division playoff game was amazing.  We had a lot of people from the school community at the game, and all of us chanted, clapped and cheered the boys to victory.  It was an incredible experience being in the gym at that game, and I was really happy to be a part of it.

There is a lot of talk about how parents act out at kids sporting events, and I have seen my share of that.  But more often I have seen what I saw last week, a coming together to cheer the kids on and have a good time.  For the time the game is played everyone is there to support and cheer, and you can see the kids love it, and respond positively to it.  The louder our group was the better the boys played.  It was awesome!

I’m looking forward to the game tomorrow night, even if I probably won’t have a voice to yell with.  Husband can yell loud enough for both of us.  Win or lose (and of course I hope it is win) I get the privilege of being there watching a remarkable group of kids play a game they love.  Whatever night the lights are on, and for whatever sport, I’m happy to be a part of it.

This Broad would Love to know what you have to say!

