19 Years

19 years ago today I married my incredibly wonderful Husband.  He quietly snuck out the morning of our wedding and woke me up with a Jack in the Box breakfast bouncing on the bed saying “We’re getting married today!”  I’m not a morning person, so I’m pretty sure my response wasn’t as enthusiastic as his, but by the time we were standing in front of 130 people getting married I was just as excited.

Husband really didn’t want to dress up in a tux, and he said he’d be happy getting married in jeans.  So, although we didn’t know it at the time, we threw the first of many themed parties.  We had a Western Wedding theme, and he got to wear jeans, and I wore a very cute western dress and boots.  We were in our mid-twenties, but looking back today we look so very young in our wedding pictures.

We had a wonderful ceremony and a fantastic reception.  What had started out as eloping on New Year’s Eve turned into a full wedding and reception, and we are both so glad it turned out that way.  Looking back I don’t remember the problems family caused, or the Disaster of the Day (my Dad’s phrase, and now a running joke between us) hours before the rehearsal dinner scheduled at my parent’s house.

When I look back what I remember is how incredibly gorgeous he looked waiting for me to walk down the aisle to him.  He was determined there would be no tears during the ceremony, and he made me laugh so hard during my vows that I actually had to take a second to get control so the ceremony could continue.  We came right out into our first dance to start the reception because we wanted people to relax and have fun.  We danced to the Elvis version of Can’t Help Falling in Love, and then did a second dance to the Turtle’s So Happy Together.  We still dance to those songs today, and even had the DJ play them specifically for us at each of the girls Bat Mitzvahs.  Our tiered wedding cake had chocolate frosting, and that frosting is still smudged on his black cowboy hat to this day to remind us of the fun we had that night.

Our friends had gotten us a hotel room for the night, and decorated it with rose petals and left us food and champagne in the room.  In the morning we both bolted up early because we realized with trying to get out of the house on time we had left our dog outside all night, which we never did, so we ran back home to let her in.  She was fine, and was perfectly happy spending a night outside.  We went together to change my name on my social security card and driver’s license.

I could not have known 19 years ago how much more I would love Husband today, and how that love would just keep growing each day.  I couldn’t ask for a better Dad for the girls.  It hasn’t always been easy, and we have definitely had our share of challenges, but we met them together.  I consider myself lucky, blessed, fortunate and whatever other words fit that I am married to Husband.  Happy 19th Anniversary Baby, I Love You So Much!!!

2 comments on “19 Years

  1. Love & War says:

    You don’t need me to tell you, because I can clearly tell from your writing and your memories how lucky you know you are. Your life started out with so many personal notes— personally, the dancing was a highlight…and a must!, right?— and the 19-year melody has only grown richer…and even better to dance to. Congratulations! 19/19 so, already golden.

    • Thank You! Yes, the dancing is what we always mention first when anyone asks about our wedding, and dancing to those songs today is still wonderful. 🙂 I mentioned to Husband how it was our “golden” anniversary, and he had never heard of that, but he took my word that it was an actual thing.

This Broad would Love to know what you have to say!

