Quit Being a Work Jerk

I understand the difficulty of working in a place undergoing change. You hear vague rumors, or concrete conversations of where administrators would like things to go, but until a plan is rolled out, it is all speculation. I look at this kind of thing as the time to sit back and watch it all unfold. Others look at it as a time to come down on everyone in the workplace, and to assert their dominance.

Personally, I feel like one of the few constants that can be depended on is change. I wake up in the morning and change is already happening, because my today isn’t going to be like yesterday no matter how much I plan it. And it’s not like I’m great with change. Husband despaired of me ever being able to “go with the flow” in the early days of our relationship. I still like to have everything planned out, but I am also able to go with change much better these days.

What is irritating is people who are afraid of or don’t like the changes that seem to be coming in the workplace. That is fine, have your doubts and your negativity, but don’t put it onto me. People who are supposed to be professional (but usually aren’t) and who are supposed to be leading are some of the worst. I’m sorry you feel like your job is suddenly at risk of becoming something you might not like, but talking down to me and treating me in a dismissive and disdainful manner isn’t going to change anything. And I’m not the only one noticing the behavior.

I really like my job, and the organization I work for. I like my supervisor and my co-workers. But with things looking like a change is coming, people are getting noticeably more cranky. I understand it, but I can’t approve the behavior. Some of the problem may also stem from private life stuff. Which I don’t want to know about. I don’t usually have crankiness related to Husband and the girls, but when I do I don’t talk about it at work, and I also am very careful to not be abusive to co-workers because of it. Unfortunately not everyone does that. Again, I understand, because life intertwines and difficulties overlap, but if you are mad at a decision maker or your spouse, I’m not thrilled to be the stand-in.

Obviously today has been a day. In the last few weeks there have been more of them, and I don’t see an end coming very soon. I took this job knowing I wouldn’t be a decision maker, which was fine, I was ready for the change. Today, well, I still don’t want to change my job, or go back to what I used to do, but it would be nice if for one day it was acceptable to behave in the manner others are, just to give it back to them. But it isn’t, and I really want to be bigger than that. Really, I do.

This Broad would Love to know what you have to say!

